I woke up like this!

I woke up today on a notification from babycenter, my pregnancy app congratulating me on hitting halfway mark on my pregnancy, I smiled, and as usual got out of bed to get ready for work. There it was, for the very first time I was having trouble tying my shoes, and after a long struggle I stood up and realized that I can barely see my feet, YES! it hit me! 20 weeks! 140 days I have been walking around while creating a tiny human being in my tummy.

I don’t know about you ladies out there, I know when I first found out that we are expecting I started carrying the perfect lunch box to work every single day, filled with vegetables, fruits, fresh juices, home cooked food and a big bottle of water. As the days passed I started feeling less energetic which was reflected on my lunchbox; days, weeks and months passed and today I came to realize that I have almost no time left to get back on track, be healthy and even include moderate exercise to my daily routine, you know what they say, better late than never.

I walked into the elevator and started checking myself in the mirror, Wow! when did this happen? I cannot hide it anymore, its just there! is it cute? should I freak out? Is it a comfort that I can still get into my tops and few of my dresses? I already got over the jeans situation that went from tight, to unbuttoned, to using hairband for extra breathing space to finally giving up to the maternity jeans that I have altered to a skinny style trying to keep the look and feel along with my Vans.

While driving to the office I kept on thinking of all kinds of things, hormones, emotional roller coaster, physical changes, baby, responsibilities, I believe thinking too hard made me kind of freak out, but do I have to? I rushed to my office, started reading and reading, was quiet surprised that a lot of these websites are talking about the depression most of pregnant women go though, But why? I looked down at my tummy, I saw a life growing in me, its a miracle, I’m blessed for going through all these changes, and its an opportunity to experience every aspect of it. while reading I came across Yoga, apparently three lovely ladies are offering free Yoga classes every Saturday morning in Al Shaheed Park which is not very far from where I live, I immediately called my OB and confirmed that it is perfectly safe to do yoga during pregnancy and that you are actually preparing your body and mind for labor and delivery through the prenatal yoga.

Well, later that week I went to my first yoga class, I was nervous, haunted by all the thought that I might fall, hurt or squish my baby. I love the fact that I got a special attention just because I was pregnant 🙂 drifting into the moves and poses, I started freeing my mind from all these negative thoughts, I focused on my body, brain and soul, and there it was, I was feeling my tiny yoga buddy moving, I embraced the feeling, I embraced my bump and I embraced by baby, it was an excellent loving compassion practice for myself and my baby.

That night, I walked into my kitchen and prepared what I believe a very delicious and healthy soup, full of a variety of fresh vegetables which will feed your body with nutrition you need and plenty of vitamins, it didn’t take me much time, and the fact of enjoying this warm cup of soup just before I go to bed made me feel so healthy and relaxed and eased the night enjoying a very good sleep!

Thought of sharing the recipe with you –  its called Tuscan Soup

Ingredients
1 (15-ounce) can low-sodium canellini beans, drained and rinsed – I personally smashed it hoping it might ease the bloating. 
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 large onion, diced (about 1 cup)
2 carrots, diced (about 1/2 cup)
2 stalks celery, diced, (about 1/2 cup)
1 small zucchini, diced (about 1 1/2 cups)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves (or 1 teaspoon dried)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh sage leaves (or 1/2 teaspoon dried)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
32 ounces low-sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth
1 (14.5-ounce) can no salt added diced tomatoes
2 cups chopped baby spinach leaves
1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan, optional –  I haven’t added the cheese to make it lighter but it still tasted SO YUMMY! 

Direction
In a small bowl mash half of the beans with a masher or the back of a spoon, and set aside. Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrots, celery, zucchini, garlic, thyme, sage, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper, and cook stirring occasionally until the vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes.
Add the broth and tomatoes with the juice and bring to a boil. Add the mashed and whole beans and the spinach leaves and cook until the spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes more. Serve topped with Parmesan, if desired.

Read more about the recipe on Food Network

And if you wish to follow the yoga instructors on Instagram for latest updates, here are their accounts: Fyomkaspinalyoga and yogeras. You can also follow Al Shaheed Park instagram account for their latest news, activities and updates: alshaheedpark 

Enjoy reading mamas!

2 thoughts on “I woke up like this!

Leave a Reply

